Yash and his Lakshya

Tulsi apart, if there is any other Balaji character that has been the centre of attention from day one, it has to be the loveable Lakshya of Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi. After Pulkit Samrat controversially walked out of the character (and the serial) a few months ago, Yash Pandit has taken over to mark his TV debut.

Were you aware that Pulkit Samrat walked out of Kyunki… and Ekta Kapoor dragged him to court?

I know not many people will believe me when I say that I had no idea that so much had happened prior to my joining the show. It is only after I started shooting for Kyunki… that I read a couple of newspaper articles mentioning the issue. Anyway, all that is of absolutely no importance to me. It is a great character and a wonderful set-up and that is most important for me.

Were you apprehensive about taking up a role made famous by someone else?

Balaji Telefilms had actually promised me a role in a new serial, but since that is still a while away they asked me whether I would be interested in Kyunki…. I had no problems whatsoever given the popularity of the serial and the fact that the role is extremely meaty. And since I always wanted to debut on television with a big production house like Balaji Telefilms this was an opportunity that I didn’t want to let go of.

Are you looking to play Lakshya any differently?

To be honest, I hadn’t watched a single episode of Kyunki…before I was signed on, although my mother and grandmother are avid watchers. So I really don’t know how Lakshya was played before I took over. From my understanding of the character, I know that Lakshya is loveable and righteous, but can be pretty intense about certain things. I am looking to play the character in as natural a manner as possible.

Are you open to other television projects as well?

I am looking at doing a lot more on television. The new serial with Balaji should happen soon. And I may also participate in a reality show.

You have acted in Rok Sako To Rok Lo and even the Bengali film Faltu. Does more of television mean less of films now?

I am looking to strike a balance between both the mediums. But television is what I am concentrating on at the moment. Everyone now wants to be seen on TV.

4 responses »

  1. jiya says:

    hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii ………hum bata nahi sakte hum kite khush hai hey lakshya aap jante hai hamare ek bahiya the jo bilkul aap ke tarah the…… wo 4 saal pehle gujar gaye…..jab humne aapko pehli bar dekha toh eisa laga jeisa hamare bhaiya wapas aa gaye…..kya hum aapko bhai pukar sakte hai….. wo hum apne bhaiya ko bhai bulate the……aaj hame unki bahat yaad aa rahi hai…byeeee bas hum toh abhi yahi dua karenge ki aap ko jindagi mei har khushi ,har kamiyabi mile…..byeeeeeeeee ur little sister jiya

  2. happy says:

    i love u

  3. Wow Yash Pandit is My Most Favourite Actor,I’am very happy to see him as Lakshya in Kyunki…,Yash Pandit is The Most Goodlooking Highly Talanted Lotus Eyed Gorgeous Regal Handsome Hunk Beyond Compare,North or South East or West Yash Pandit is The Best

  4. umesh says:

    hi brother kya haal hai yar

Leave a comment

